Page 11 - VDP_GUIDE_2020
P. 11

t was around 1870 that ragmen were chased out of Paris by the law prohibiting the collection of biffe (discarded objects) from the
who enjoyed strolling through the market on Sundays. One could roam around eating delicious snacks and sipping white wine, all to the sound of gypsy guitars. After WWI, developers began to purchase the land and build streets, where they installed water and electricity. Thus the first four markets were established between 1920 and 1938, full of enclosed sites organized all along the alleyways: Vernaison, Malik, Biron and Jules Vallès. Twelve other markets then opened their doors - with specialties as diverse as clothing, antique books, 18th, 19th and 20th century furnishings. They contributed to making the Saint-Ouen flea-market one of the most visited tourist sites in the Paris region. Today, the world’s top antiques market boasts more than 1,300 businesses and comprises over 11 kilometers of window displays, but has surely lost none of its bohemian spirit.
   s and taxes being raised ever higher. They settled in Malassis, a piece of land of around 300 meters located in St-Ouen. These everyday treasure-loving junk dealers, also called “moon fishermen” set up their first market stands alongside gypsy caravans and were quickly joined by lock pickers, bargain-hunters and second-hand clothing dealers. Faced with the popularity of these spots, the city of Saint-Ouen invested in cleansing and securing the quarter, contributing to the flea market’s official launch in 1885. At the turn of the 20th century, the appearance of guingettes (open air cafés), musical groves, as well as various shops, started to attract Parisians,

   9   10   11   12   13